March 17th, 2014

Finalists for the 2013 Print Industry Apprentice of the Year Announced.

The Print Industry Apprentice of the Year Awards has reached a significant milestone with the announcement of the finalists and one winner across five award categories.

Every year the print industry gathers to celebrate the achievements of the top apprentices, diploma trainees and companies involved in workplace training. This year’s awards are the first time the event has been run in partnership with Competenz (the industry training organisation (ITO) for printing and packaging) and PrintNZ following the merger of CMITO and Competenz earlier in the year.

Fiona Kingsford, Competenz’s General Manager Trades, says that the continuation of these awards as a high profile event plays an important part in promoting and celebrating excellence in the Printing industry, “Competenz understands the importance of these awards and I know that in partnership with PrintNZ, this event will continue to grow in value and prestige in years to come”.

The headline Apprentice of the Year Award reflects the culmination of many years of hard work and study for apprentices. All finalists completed their apprenticeship in 2013 and were chosen following a rigorous selection process based on information and feedback from employers, training advisors, Competenz account managers, assessors, workshop tutors and data from assignments, marks and completion times.

Click here to view finalist profiles.

Kingsford points out that choosing the finalist in any year is difficult, and the class of 2013 was no exception, “ I think that if you take the overall calibre of the applications we received as being reflective of the printing sector in general, then it is certainly in good health”.

Each finalist will be recognised for their achievement at the awards being held at the Auckland Maritime Museum on Thursday the 22nd of May as part of the PrintNZ conference dinner, with the overall winner being announced at the Pride in Print awards being held at the SkyCity Convention centre the following evening (Friday the 23rd of May). Four other awards will be presented at the Print Industry Apprentice of the Year Awards.

The Top Management Trainee Award recognises the achievements of the top trainee who completed the Diploma in Print Management qualification during 2013. The Workplace Trainer Award recognises an individual who has made a real difference in terms of promoting and supporting workplace training. The Company Training Award recognises a company that promotes a training culture within their workplace.

The awarding of the Jenkins Award to Leighton Armstrong of Adhesif Labels (Auckland) will also be presented on the night.  The Jenkins Award recognises the top apprentice in label printing for 2013. Competenz and PrintNZ acknowledge the funding support for the Apprentice of The Year Awards from principal sponsor Icon Digital papers as well as the following organisations: Blue Print Imaging, Yoobee School of Design, Newspaper Publishers’ Association, Print Finishers Association, Trust4Skills, and the NZ Paper Forum.  

Print Industry Apprentice of the Year Awards

When:  Thursday 22nd May 2014 Where: Auckland Maritime Museum Ticketing:  Contact Pam Seymour at PrintNZ  for ticketing information or 09 265 2090.   

Icon Papers Apprentice of the Year Award - Finalists

  • Poppy Sparrow - DPI (Ashburton)
  • Alysha Johnson - Tainui Press Design & Print (Matamata)
  • Lukas Meyer - Kale Print & Design Associates Ltd (Tauranga)
  • Aki Lam Sam - A P Woodham Ltd (Auckland)
  • Steven  Hunter - Sealed Air (NZ)  (Hamilton)

Trust4Skills Top Management Trainee Award - Finalists

  • Matthew Jarvis - Wickliffe Solutions (Auckland)
  • Nicholas Gribble - Licensys NZ (Auckland)  

Workplace Trainer Award - Finalists

  • Graham Broom - Orora Cartons NZ (Lower Hutt)
  • Dale Ertel - Tainui Press Design & Print (Matamata)
  • Mike Horne - Auckland Community Print (Auckland)
  • Phillip Ost - APN Print (Auckland)
  • Clinton  Sampson - Interpac (Auckland)

  Company Training Awards - Finalists

  • APN Print (Auckland)
  • Permark Industries (Auckland)
  • Carter Holt Harvey Packaging -Case (Levin)
  • CHH Specialty Boards & Boxes (Hamilton)
  • Orora Cartons (Lower Hutt)

  Jenkins Award - Winner Leighton Armstrong - Adhesif Labels (Auckland)